Higher Education in Maryland
Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Press Room

> Legislative Testimony
Press Releases
> 2009
> 2008
> 2007
> 2006

Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland

November 2009 Media Advisory



For immediate release: November 23, 2009                             Media Contact: Christopher Falkenhagen
                                                                                                             Communications: (410) 260-4511



Congressman Ruppersberger, Higher Education Secretary Lyons to announce major funding for STEM initiative in Anne Arundel County

What: Secretary of Higher Education James E. Lyons, Sr. will join Congressman C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-Maryland’s 2nd District) to announce $381,000 for a middle school science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education program in Anne Arundel County. Congressman Ruppersberger attained the funds through a federal earmark. Secretary Lyons is the project manager.

Who: Congressman Ruppersberger, Secretary Lyons, Anne Arundel County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Kevin Maxwell, Anne Arundel County Public Schools Board of Education President Edward “Ned” Carey, National Security Agency (NSA) Director for State and Local Governmental Relations Catherine “Kay” Hill, Anne Arundel County middle school teacher, Anne Arundel County middle school and high school students.

When: Tuesday, November 24, 2009, 11 a.m.

Where: The Maryland Higher Education Commission, 839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400, Annapolis, MD 21401.


The Maryland Higher Education Commission is a 12-member coordinating board responsible for establishing statewide policies for Maryland public and independent colleges and universities and private career schools. It serves as an advocate for more than 337,000 college students in Maryland, for the State and its needs, and for business and industry in Maryland.






Hours of Operation:  Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM  |  Back to top  |  (PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader