Higher Education in Maryland
Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Press Room

> Legislative Testimony
Press Releases
> 2009
> 2008
> 2007
> 2006

Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland

March 2008 Press Release









What:          The Maryland Higher Education Commission’s (MHEC) Education Policy

                     Committee Meeting.

Introduction of Guests

  • Student Advisory Council

  • Faculty Advisory Council

        Dr. Joann Boughman, Chair


         Assistant Secretary’s Report, Dr. George W. Reid

Items to be discussed:

  • COMAR 13B.02.02 Minimum Requirements for Degree Granting Institutions Recommendation for Final Action

  • Proposed Procedures Related to the Regulations on the Right of First Refusal

  • COMAR 13B.02.01 Requirements for Authorization of Out-of-State Degree-Granting Institutions to Operate in Maryland, Status Report

  • Program approval status

Information Reports Distributed to the Committee

  • Report on Programs Reviewed from January 1, 2008 to February 29, 2008

  • Report on Private Career Schools: Approval Actions from February 1, 2008 to February 29 2008

Legislative Update, Dr. Gareth Murray, Director of Legislative Services

Who:          MHEC Secretary James E. Lyons, Sr.; MHEC Assistant Secretary, George Reid; and

                    the Commission’s Education Policy Committee members: Joann A. Boughman,

                    Ph.D.; Victor E. Bernson, Jr. Esquire; Leronia A. Josey; Lt. General Emmett Paige, Jr.

                   (Ret); Joshua Michael, and Nhora Barrera Murphy

When:        10:00 am, Wednesday, March 12.

Where:       839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400, Annapolis. The meeting will be held in the

                    Commission’s main conference room.

The full agenda will be available at the meeting.


Hours of Operation:  Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM  |  Back to top  |  (PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader