Higher Education in Maryland
Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Press Room

> Legislative Testimony
Press Releases
> 2009
> 2008
> 2007
> 2006

Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland

December 2007 Press Release





Awards help recruit and retain nursing faculty



Annapolis, MD (December 4, 2007) – The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC), in affiliation with the Maryland Health Services Cost Review Commission, is pleased to announce 20 winners of the 2007 New Nursing Faculty Fellowships. The Fellowship program is an incentive grant program designed to help Schools of Nursing attract and retain qualified faculty.

Awards are made to new, tenure-track or tenured, full-time nursing faculty members nominated by their deans or directors. The grants provide each fellow with $20,000 over a three-year period for professional expenses or as a salary supplement.

This year’s new fellows are faculty at five Maryland colleges and universities:

  • Chesapeake College – Jean Lowe, Assistant Professor; Heather Westerfield, Assistant Professor

  • Coppin State University – Teresa Richardson, Assistant Professor; Charlotte Wood, Assistant Professor; Dr. Nayna Philipsen, Assistant Professor; Patricia Setlow, Assistant Professor; Amelia Bell-Hawkins, Assistant Professor; Karen Womack, Assistant Professor; Danita Tolson, Assistant Professor; Kathy Barnes, Assistant Professor; Aquetta Jenkins, Assistant Professor; Natalie Hart, Assistant Professor; Dr. Denise Pope, Associate Professor

  • Montgomery College – Ching Chuen Feng, Associate Professor; Wendy Wells, Assistant Professor; Monique Alston-Davis, Assistant Professor; Karen Cumberbatch-Sullivan, Associate Professor

  • University of Maryland Baltimore – Denise Owens, Clinical Instructor

  • Wor-Wic Community College – Sharon Contini, Instructor; Barbara Manry, Instructor

The New Nursing Faculty Fellowships are funded under the Nurse Support Program II. The goal of the Nurse Support Program II is to increase the number of qualified bedside nurses in Maryland hospitals. These fellowships allow the nursing schools and departments to expand their capacity for nursing students by hiring highly qualified nurse educators.

“I am very proud of the recipients of these Nursing Faculty Fellowship Awards,” said Maryland Higher Education Secretary James E. Lyons, Sr. “Bold, progressive programs such as the New Nursing Faculty Fellowship Awards will help Maryland’s institutions of higher learning retain and recruit quality nurses which are needed in this great State.”

The Maryland Higher Education Commission is a 12-member coordinating board responsible for establishing statewide policies for Maryland public and independent colleges and universities and private career schools. It serves as an advocate for more than 300,000 college students in Maryland, for the State and its needs, and for business and industry in Maryland.

Hours of Operation:  Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM  |  Back to top  |  (PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader