Higher Education in Maryland

> About
> Commission Members
> Colleges & Universities
> Institutional Grants
> Job Openings
> OCR Plan
> Planning and Academic Affairs
> Academic Approval Process
> New Programs Under Review
> Academic Programs
> Distance Education
> Advisory Councils
> Academic Common Market
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Veterans Benefits
> Base Realignment & Closure (BRAC)
>Other Higher Ed Links

Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Press Room
Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland





TIME: 10:00 a.m.                                                    PLACE:   Commission Meeting Room
           Thursday                                                                       839 Bestgate Road, Suite 400
           September 17, 2009                                                   Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Call to Order

Approval of the May 14, 2009 Minutes (PDF)

Overview of the Operating and Capital Budget Process (PDF)

Operating and Capital Budget Presentations

10:15 a.m. University System of Maryland
Dr. William "Britt" Kirwan, Chancellor
10:45 a.m. Morgan State University
Mr. Ray Vollmer, Associate Vice President for Finance and Administration
11:05 a.m. St. Mary's College of Maryland
Dr. Thomas J. Botzman, Vice President for Business and Finance
11:25 a.m. Maryland Independent College and University Association
Ms. Tina M. Bjarekull, President
Mr. Sanford J. Ungar, President, Goucher College
Dr. Ronald J. Volpe, President, Hood College
Dr. Kevin J. Manning, President, Stevenson University
11:45 a.m. Break
12:45 a.m. Maryland Association of Community Colleges
Mr. Clay Whitlow, Executive Director
1:05 p.m. Baltimore City Community College
Dr. Carolane Williams, President
1:30 p.m.
Regional Higher Education Centers
  • Waldorf Center--Ms. Jeri Crews, Director of Admission
  • 1:45 p.m.
  • Southern Maryland--Dr. Mel Powell, Executive Director
  • 2:00 p.m.
  • Laurel Center--Ms. Nancy Grinberg, Program Supervisor
  • 2:15 p.m.
  • HEAT Center--Ms. Terri Morris, Coordinator
  • 2:30 p.m.
  • Eastern Shore--Ms. Deborah Urry, Executive Director
  • 2:45 p.m.
  • AACC/Arundel Mills--Ms. Kathleen Beauman, Director of Business Partnerships, Anne Arundel Community College
  • 3:00 p.m. Adjournment

    Click on the following link for a complete copy of the Finance Policy Agenda Book (PDF)

    The Maryland Higher Education Commission is committed to ensuring that individuals with disabilities are able to fully participate in and benefit from the Commission's public meetings, programs, and services.  Anyone planning to attend a meeting of the Commission who wishes to receive auxiliary aids, services, or accommodations should contact Evangeline Redding at 410-260-4539or 1-800-735-2258 (TTY/Voice) by Friday, September 4, 2009.



    Hours of Operation:  Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM  |  Back to top  |  (PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader