Skip to Main Content

Directory

Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm


Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)

Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0250

For questions about your financial aid application or award, please log into MDCAPS at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us and send us an email through your secure account.

For problems logging into your MD CAPS account, first read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document located on the MDCAPS homepage at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us.  If you still cannot log in to your account, please email OSFA at osfamail.mhec@maryland.gov

 

Department of Academic Affairs, Research & Policy Analysis, Private Career Schools, Department of Finance and Administration

Phone Number: (410) 767-3301
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0270


Visitors who are hard of hearing, deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

Please direct all questions or comments about our web site to: webmgr.mhec@maryland.gov.  We welcome email correspondence from anyone, but we do not accept attachments.

Staff Contact Information


Office of the Secretary


Name

Position Title

Email

James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D.

Secretary of Higher Education

james.fielder@maryland.gov

Geoffrey Newman

Assistant Secretary of Higher Education

geoff.newman@maryland.gov

Vacant Assistant Secretary of Higher Education  

Tonya Johnson

Executive Associate to the Office of the Secretary

tonyal.johnson@maryland.gov

back to top


Office of the Attorney General


Name

Position Title

Email

Mark Blom

Assistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel

mark.blom@maryland.gov

Christine Wellons

Assistant Attorney General

christine.wellons@maryland.gov

back to top


Department of Academic Affairs


Name

Position Title

Email

Vacant

Director

 
  Collegiate Unit  

Monica Wheatley

Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs

monica.wheatley@maryland.gov

Vacant

Senior Education Policy Analyst

 

Jackie Cade

Education Policy Analyst

jacqueline.cade@maryland.gov

Vacant

Education Policy Analyst

 

Koliwe Moyo

Online Education Analyst

koliwe.moyo1@maryland.gov

Elaine Shaw-Taylor

Administrative Specialist

elaine.taylor@maryland.gov

  Private Career Schools  

Alan Gallegos

Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education

alan.gallegos@maryland.gov

Vacant

Senior Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

Angela Carroll

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

angela.carroll@maryland.gov

Vacant

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

Ronda Brown

Administrative Aide -Career/Workforce Education

ronda.brown@maryland.gov

  Veterans Affairs  

Trish Gordon-McCown

Associate Director of Veterans Affairs

trish.mccown@maryland.gov

Olayta Rigsby

Veterans Affairs Analyst

olayta.rigsby@maryland.gov

Vacant

Veterans Affairs Analyst

 

back to top


Department of Finance and Administration


Name

Position Title

Email

Geoffrey Newman

Assistant Secretary of Higher Education

geoff.newman@maryland.gov

  Office of Budget and Finance  

Jeffrey Cann

Director

jeff.cann@maryland.gov

Sandy Carrera

Administrative Officer

sandra.carrera@maryland.gov

La Juan Lee

Procurement Officer

lajuan.lee@maryland.gov

Les Hodgson

Staff Accountant

les.hodgson@maryland.gov
  Office of Facilities/Capital Budget Oversight  

David Beard

Finance Policy Analyst

david.beard@maryland.gov

Anthony Reiner

Finance and Facilities

anthony.reiner@maryland.gov

  Office of Information Technology  

Parris Jackson

Director

parris.jackson@maryland.gov

Alexander Robertson

Systems Specialist

alex.robertson@maryland.gov
Lisa Stollof Database Specialist lisa.stollof@maryland.gov

Vacant

Systems Specialist

 

Vacant

Systems Specialist

 

back to top


Department of Outreach for Public, Student, Legislative, and Corporate Relations


Name

Position Title

Email

Lee Towers

Executive Director

lee.towers@maryland.gov

  Office of Public Relations  

Vacant

Director

 
  Office of Outreach and Grants Management (OGM)  

Vacant

Director - Outreach & Grants Management

 

Vacant

Outreach and Grants Management Manager

 

Peggy Daw

Nurse Support Program II Grant Manager

peggy.daw@maryland.gov

Benee Edwards

Outreach and Grants Management Coordinator

benee.edwards@maryland.gov

Kimberly Ford

Grant Support Specialist

kimberly.ford@maryland.gov

Isaiah Ellis

Outreach Specialist

isaiah.ellis@maryland.gov

Priscilla Moore Nurse Support Program II Grant Specialist priscilla.moore@maryland.gov

Vacant

Grant Coordinator

 

Cynthia Tims GEAR UP Grant Coordinator cynthia.tims@maryland.gov
  Office of Legislative Affairs  

Lee Towers

Director

lee.towers@maryland.gov

  Office of Corporate Relations  

Lee Towers

Director

lee.towers@maryland.gov

 

back to top


Office of Research  and Policy Analysis (RPA)


Name

Position Title

Email

Jon Enriquez

Director - RPA


jon.enriquez1@maryland.gov

Barbara Schmertz

Associate Director

barbara.schmertz@maryland.gov

Peter Hobbs

MLDSC Director of Reporting Services

peter.hobbs@maryland.gov

Alexia Van Orden

Research Analyst

alexia.vanorden@maryland.gov

Shauna Clarke Research Analyst shauna.clarke@maryland.gov