Higher Education in Maryland
Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Publications
Press Room
Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland


Contact Us

Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm


Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)

Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0250

 

For questions about your financial aid application or award, please log into MD CAPS at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us and send us an email through your secure account.

For problems logging into your MD CAPS account, first read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document located on the MD CAPS homepage at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us.  If you still cannot log in to your account, please email OSFA at osfamail@mhec.state.md.us

 

Academic Affairs, Research & Policy Analysis, Private Career Schools, Finance, and Administration

Phone Number: (410) 767-3301
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0270


Visitors who are hard of hearing, deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

Please direct all questions or comments about our web site to: webmgr@mhec.state.md.us.  We welcome email correspondence from anyone, but we do not accept attachments.

Staff Contact Information


Office of the Secretary


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Catherine M. Shultz

Acting Secretary of Higher Education

catherine.shultz@maryland.gov

Jennifer Frank Assistant Secretary of Higher Education   jennifer.frank@maryland.gov

Lee Towers

Director - Legislative Affairs

 

lee.towers@maryland.gov

Phyllis Reese Director - Communications   phyllis.reese@maryland.gov

Greg FitzGerald

Chief of Staff

 

gregory.fitzgerald@maryland.gov

Tonya Johnson Executive Associate to Assistant Secretary   tonyal.johnson@maryland.gov 

back to top


Office of Attorney General


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Mark Blom

Assistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel

 

mark.blom@maryland.gov

Vacant

Assistant Attorney General

 

 

back to top


Office of Academic Affairs


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Shawna Acker-Ball

Director - Academic Affairs

 

shawna.acker-ball@maryland.gov

Westley Forsythe

Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs

westley.forsythe@maryland.gov

Genny Segura

Senior Education Policy Analyst

genny.segura@maryland.gov

Monica Wheatley Education Policy Analyst   monica.wheatley@maryland.gov

Natalie Lopez

Education Policy Analyst

natalie.lopez@maryland.gov

Jackie Cade Online Education Analyst jacqueline.cade@maryland.gov

Elaine Shaw-Taylor

Administrative Specialist

elaine.taylor@maryland.gov

Dean Kendall

Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education

dean.kendall@maryland.gov

David Jorgenson

Senior Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

david.jorgenson@maryland.gov

Amy Kania

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

amy.kania@maryland.gov

Vacant

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

 

Ronda Brown

Administrative Assistant -Career/Workforce Education

 

ronda.brown@maryland.gov

Trish Gordon-McCown

Associate Director of Veterans Affairs

trish.mccown@maryland.gov

Olayta Rigsby Veterans Affairs Analyst   olayta.rigsby@maryland.gov
Amy Cole Veterans Affairs Analyst   amy.cole@maryland.gov

back to top


Office of Research  and Policy Analysis


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Jon Enriquez

Director - Research and Policy Analysis

 
jon.enriquez1@maryland.gov
Vacant Associate Director    

Vacant

MLDSC Associate Director of Portal and Reporting Service

 

 

Alexia Van Orden

Research Analyst

 

alexia.vanorden@maryland.gov

Vacant Research Analyst    

back to top


Office of Finance Policy


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Geoffrey Newman

Director - Finance Policy

 

geoff.newman@maryland.gov

David Beard

Finance Policy Analyst

 

david.beard@maryland.gov

Anthony Reiner

Finance and Facilities

 

anthony.reiner@maryland.gov

back to top


Office of Outreach & Grants Management


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Melinda Vann

Director - Outreach & Grants Management

 

melinda.vann@maryland.gov

Andrenette Mack-Augins

Outreach and Grants Management Manager

 

andrenette.augins@maryland.gov

Peggy Daw

Nurse Support Program Coordinator

 

peggy.daw@maryland.gov

Benee Edwards

Outreach and Grants Management Coordinator

 

benee.edwards@maryland.gov

Kimberly Ford

Program Administrator - GEAR UP

 

kimberly.ford@maryland.gov

Isaiah Ellis

College Access Administrative Aide

 

isaiah.ellis@maryland.gov

Vacant

Grants Management Administrative Specialist

 

 

 

back to top


Office of Information Technology


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Parris Jackson

Director - Information Technology

 

parris.jackson@maryland.gov

Dave DelGaudio

Associate Director

david.delgaudio@maryland.gov

Robyn Brayton

Sr. Systems Specialist

 

robyn.brayton@maryland.gov

Alexander Robertson

Systems Specialist

  alex.robertson@maryland.gov
Lisa Stollof Database Specialist   lisa.stollof@maryland.gov
Vacant Information Services Specialist    

back to top


Office of Administrative Services


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Jeffrey Cann

Director - Administrative Services

 

jeff.cann@maryland.gov

Sandy Carrera

Administrative Officer

 

sandra.carrera@maryland.gov

La Juan Lee

Procurement Officer

 

lajuan.lee@maryland.gov

Vacant

Staff Accountant

 

 

 

 

Back to top
(PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader