Higher Education in Maryland
Financial Aid
Career and Workforce Education
Publications
Press Room
Higher Education Accomplishments
Preparing for College
Online Services
For Students and Parents
> Financial Aid Applications
> Education Opportunities
> Academic Common Market
> Career Training
> MD CAPS (Student Inquiry)
> Advisor Tools
> Student Outreach Kit
> Veterans Benefits
> "Money for College" Events
> Student Guide to Transfer
> Guia para estudiantes (pdf)
For Counselors
>   Planning & Academic Affairs
> Colleges & Universities
> Education Search
> Academic Approval Process
> Programs Under Review
> Research
> Statistical Information
> Institutional Grants
> MD Fire-Rescue Education
> Career Training
For Counselors
>   Who We Are
> Contact Us
> Meetings
> State Plan for Higher Ed
> Office for Civil Rights Report 
> Advisory Council
Interagency Initiatives 
Base Realignment & Closure
Higher Education in Maryland


Contact Us

Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm


Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)

Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0250

 

For questions about your financial aid application or award, please log into MD CAPS at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us and send us an email through your secure account.

For problems logging into your MD CAPS account, first read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document located on the MD CAPS homepage at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us.  If you still cannot log in to your account, please email OSFA at osfamail@mhec.state.md.us

 

Academic Affairs, Research & Policy Analysis, Private Career Schools, Finance, and Administration

Phone Number: (410) 767-3301
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0270


Visitors who are hard of hearing, deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

Please direct all questions or comments about our web site to: webmgr@mhec.state.md.us.  We welcome email correspondence from anyone, but we do not accept attachments.

Staff Contact Information


Administration


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Catherine M. Shultz

Acting Secretary of Higher Education

cshultz@mhec.state.md.us

Jennifer Frank Assistant Secretary of Higher Education   jfrank@mhec.state.md.us

Lee Towers

Director - Legislative Affairs

 

ltowers@mhec.state.md.us

Greg FitzGerald

Chief of Staff

 

gfitzger@mhec.state.md.us

Tonya Johnson Executive Associate to Assistant Secretary   tjohnson@mhec.state.md.us 

back to top


Office of Attorney General


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Vacant

Assistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel

 

 

Patricia Logan

Assistant Attorney General

 

plogan@mhec.state.md.us

back to top


Planning and Academic Affairs


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Jennifer Frank

Assistant Secretary of Higher Education

 

jfrank@mhec.state.md.us

Tonya Johnson

Executive Associate to Assistant Secretary

 

tjohnson@mhec.state.md.us

Shawna Acker-Ball

Director of Academic Affairs

 

sackerball@mhec.state.md.us

Westley Forsythe

Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs

wforsythe@mhec.state.md.us

Genny Segura

Senior Education Policy Analyst

gsegura@mhec.state.md.us

Monica Wheatley Education Policy Analyst   mwheatley@mhec.state.md.us

Natalie Lopez

Education Policy Analyst

nlopez@mhec.state.md.us

Jackie Cade Online Education Analyst jcade@mhec.state.md.us

Elaine Shaw-Taylor

Administrative Specialist

etaylor@mhec.state.md.us

Dean Kendall

Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education

dkendall@mhec.state.md.us

David Jorgenson

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

djorgens@mhec.state.md.us

Amy Kania

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

akania@mhec.state.md.us

Stephanie Baker

Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education

 

sbaker@mhec.state.md.us

Ronda Brown

Administrative Assistant -Career/Workforce Education

 

rbrown@mhec.state.md.us

Trish Gordon-McCown

Associate Director, Veteran Affairs

tmccown@mhec.state.md.us

Amy Cole Veteran Affairs Analyst   acole@mhec.state.md.us

back to top


Research Analysis


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Andrew Nichols

Director

 

anichols@mhec.state.md.us

Vacant Associate Director    

Jon Enriquez

MLDSC Associate Director of Portal and Reporting Service

 

jenrique@mhec.state.md.us

Alexia Van Orden

Research Analyst

 

avanorden@mhec.state.md.us

Kimberlee Eberle-Sudre Research Analyst   keberlesudre@mhec.state.md.us

back to top


Finance Policy


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Geoffrey Newman

Director - Finance Policy

 

gnewman@mhec.state.md.us

David Beard

Finance Policy Analyst

 

dbeard@mhec.state.md.us

Anthony Reiner

Finance and Facilities

 

areiner@mhec.state.md.us

back to top


Office of Outreach & Grants Management


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Melinda Vann

Director - Outreach & Grants Management

 

mvann@mhec.state.md.us

Andrenette Mack-Augins

Outreach and Grants Management Manager

 

aaugins@mhec.state.md.us

Peggy Daw

Nurse Support Program Coordinator

 

pdaw@mhec.state.md.us

Benee Edwards

Outreach and Grants Management Coordinator

 

bedwards@mhec.state.md.us

Kimberly Ford

Program Administrator - GEAR UP

 

kford@mhec.state.md.us

Isaiah Ellis

College Access Administrative Aide

 

iellis@mhec.state.md.us

Robert Magee

Grants Management Administrative Specialist

 

rmagee@mhec.state.md.us

 

back to top


Office of Information Technology


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Parris Jackson

Director

 

pjackson@mhec.state.md.us

Dave DelGaudio

Associate Director

 

ddelgaud@mhec.state.md.us

Robyn Brayton

Sr. Systems Specialist

 

rbrayton@mhec.state.md.us

Lisa Stollof Database Specialist   lstollof@mhec.state.md.us

Alexander Robertson

Systems Specialist

 

aroberts@mhec.state.md.us

Charmon Vaughan Information Services Specialist   cvaughan@mhec.state.md.us

back to top


Office of Administrative Services


Name

Position Title

 

Email

Jeffrey Cann

Director of Budget and Administration

 

jcann@mhec.state.md.us

Sandy Carrera

Administrative Officer

 

scarrera@mhec.state.md.us

La Juan Lee

Procurement Officer

 

llee@mhec.state.md.us

Les Hodgson

Staff Accountant

 

lhodgson@mhec.state.md.us

 

 

Back to top
(PDF) Links require Adobe Acrobat Reader